People

Faculty

Department Chair

  • Jonathan Cohen

    Jonathan Cohen

    cohen@ucsd.edu

    Professor and Department Chair
    Ph.D. Rutgers University, 2000
    Office: HSS 7010, Phone: (858) 534-6812

    Philosophy of mind, language, and perception, particularly as these are informed by the cognitive sciences; color and color vision.

Faculty

  • Lucy Allais

    Lucy Allais

    lallais@ucsd.edu

    Henry E. Allison Endowed Chair in the History of Philosophy
    Ph.D. Oxford University, 2001
    Office: HSS 8056, Phone: (858) 534-8670

    Kant’s philosophy, and on topics related to wrongdoing and justice such as forgiveness and punishment; interests in bioethics.

  • Georgios Anagnostopoulos

    Georgios Anagnostopoulos

    ganagnostopoulos@ucsd.edu

    Professor
    Ph.D. Brandeis University, 1971
    Office: HSS 8034, Phone: (858) 534-3072

    Ancient philosophy centered around ethics, metaphysics, science, technology and human values.

  • Richard Arneson

    Richard Arneson

    rarneson@ucsd.edu

    Valtz Family Endowed Chair in Philosophy
    Ph.D. University of California, Berkeley, 1975
    Office: HSS 8057

    Political and moral philosophy, with an emphasis on theories of justice; some applied ethics. 

  • Saba Bazargan-Forward

    Saba Bazargan-Forward

    sbazargan@ucsd.edu

    Associate Professor
    Ph.D. Rutgers University, 2009
    Office: HSS 8061

    Normative ethics; working on a book combining a novel theory complicity with revisionist accounts of the morality of war.
  • William Bechtel

    William Bechtel

    bill@mechanism.ucsd.edu

    Professor
    Ph.D. University of Chicago, 1977
    Office: HSS 8076, Phone: (858) 822-4461

    History and philosophy of the life sciences with a special emphasis on the strategies of mechanistic explanation employed and the invocation of active mechanisms to explain how biological systems maintain themselves far from equilibrium.
  • David O. Brink

    David O. Brink

    dbrink@ucsd.edu

    UC Distinguished Professor
    Ph.D. Cornell University, 1985
    Office: HSS 8016, Phone: (858) 534-4881

    Ethical theory, history of ethics, and jurisprudence; historical and systematic perspectives on practical reason, moral demands, and the normativity of ethics; nature of law and legal interpretation in substantive areas of constitutional and criminal jurisprudence.

  • Craig Callender

    Craig Callender

    ccallender@ucsd.edu

    Professor
    Ph.D. Rutgers University, 1997
    Office: HSS 8077, Phone: (858) 822-4911

    Philosophy of physics, the metaphysics of science, and philosophy of science in general.

  • Jennifer Carr

    Jennifer Carr

    j2carr@ucsd.edu

    Assistant Professor
    Ph.D. Massachusetts Institute of Technology, 2013
    Office: H&SS 8037, Phone: (858) 246-2499

    Theoretical philosophy, including epistemology, logic, decision theory, and philosophy of language.

  • Nancy Cartwright

    Nancy Cartwright

    ncartwright@ucsd.edu

    UC Distinguished Professor
    Ph.D. University of Illinois
    Office: HSS 7023, Phone: (858) 793-1979

    Philosophy of the natural, social and policy sciences with specialization in physics and economics; questions of causality, objectivity in science, and evidence, especially for evidence-based policy.

  • Matthew Fulkerson

    Matthew Fulkerson

    mfulkerson@ucsd.edu

    Associate Professor
    Ph.D. University of Toronto, 2010
    Office: HSS 8073, Phone: (858) 534-6643

    Philosophy of Mind and Philosophy of Cognitive Science; philosophical issues that arise from the investigation of human haptic touch; multisensory experience, spatial representation, the affective character of perception, and the relationship between perception and bodily awareness.

  • Rick Grush

    Rick Grush

    rgrush@ucsd.edu

    Professor
    Ph.D. University of California, San Diego, 1995
    Office: HSS 7038, Phone: (858) 822-4440

    Theoretical cognitive neuroscience and the metaphysics of mind and representation; interests in linguistics and early modern; emulation theory of representation, and spatial and temporal representation.

  • Michael Hardimon

    Michael Hardimon

    mhardimon@ucsd.edu

    Associate Professor
    Ph.D. University of Chicago, 1985
    Office: HSS 8084, Phone: (858) 822-0473

    Post-Kantian philosophy: Hegel's social and political philosophy; Nietzsche's moral philosophy and moral psychology; and racial identity.

  • Monte Johnson

    Monte Johnson

    monte@ucsd.edu

    Associate Professor
    Ph.D. University of Toronto, 2003
    Office: HSS 8009, Phone: N/A
    Early Greek philosophy; Aristotle Studies; Hellenistic philosophy; the reception of Greco-Roman philosophy in modern philosophy and science; the reconstruction of lost and fragmentary works; and comparative ancient philosophy.

  • Andy Lamey

    Andy Lamey

    alamey@ucsd.edu

    Teaching Professor
    Ph.D. University of Western Australia, 2011
    Office: HSS 7017, Phone (858) 534-9111

    Applied ethics, normative ethics and political philosophy.

  • Kerry McKenzie

    Kerry McKenzie

    kmckenzie@ucsd.edu

    Assistant Professor
    Ph.D. University of Leeds, England, 2012
    Office: HSS 8088, Phone (858) 534-2566

    Metaphysics of science, especially modality, fundamentality, structuralism, naturalism, and realism.

  • Dana Nelkin

    Dana Nelkin

    dnelkin@ucsd.edu

    Professor
    Ph.D. University of California, Los Angeles, 1995
    Office: HSS 8085, Phone: (858) 822-3658

    Moral psychology, ethics, and philosophy of action.

  • Samuel Rickless

    Samuel Rickless

    srickless@ucsd.edu

    Professor
    Ph.D. University of California, Los Angeles, 1996
    Office: HSS 8012, Phone: (858) 822-4910

    Ancient philosophy (particularly Plato), early modern philosophy (particularly Locke and Berkeley), ethics, and jurisprudence.

  • Donald Rutherford

    Donald Rutherford

    drutherford@ucsd.edu

    Professor
    Ph.D. University of California, Berkeley, 1988
    Office: HSS 7010, Phone: (858) 822-1655

    Early modern philosophy and the reception of ancient philosophy in the early modern period; Kant's critical philosophy and its development, and Nietzsche.

  • Charles Sebens

    Charles Sebens

    csebens@ucsd.edu

    Assistant Professor
    Ph.D. University of Michigan, 2015
    Office: HSS 8047, Phone: (858) 246-2498

    Philosophy of physics (focusing on interpretations of quantum mechanics), epistemology, metaphysics.

  • Gila Sher

    Gila Sher

    gsher@ucsd.edu

    Professor
    Ph.D. Columbia University, 1989
    Office: HSS 8042, Phone: (858) 534-8504

    Foundational issues involving knowledge, truth, and logic.

  • Clinton Tolley

    Clinton Tolley

    ctolley@ucsd.edu

    Associate Professor
    Ph.D. University of Chicago, 2007
    Office: HSS 8018, Phone: (858) 822-2686

    History of modern European philosophy focusing on Kant, early analytic philosophy (especially Bolzano and Frege), and phenomenology (especially Brentano, Husserl, and the early Heidegger).

  • Manuel Vargas

    Manuel Vargas

    mrvargas@ucsd.edu

    Professor
    Ph.D. Stanford, 2001
    (Leave of Absence 2016-17)

    Moral psychology, free will, and Latin American philosophy.

  • Eric Watkins

    Eric Watkins

    ewatkins@ucsd.edu

    Professor
    Ph.D. University of Notre Dame, 1994
    Office: HSS 8062, Phone: (858) 822-0082

    Kant's theoretical philosophy and its place within modern philosophy and science; early modern philosophy (esp. Leibniz), German Idealism and the history of philosophy of science.

Emeriti Faculty

  • Henry E. Allison

    Henry E. Allison

    hea@surewest.net

    Professor Emeritus

    Kant, Spinoza, German Idealism, and eighteenth and nineteenth-century philosophy. 

  • Patricia Churchland

    Patricia Churchland

    pschurchland@ucsd.edu

    Professor Emerita
    B.Phil. Oxford University, 1969
    Office: HSS 8012, Phone: (858) 534-6811


    Interface between neuroscience and philosophy; explores the impact of neuroscientific developments on our understanding of consciousness, the self, free will, decision making, ethics, learning, and religion.

  • Paul Churchland

    Paul Churchland

    pchurchland@ucsd.edu

    Professor Emeritus
    Ph.D. University of Pittsburgh, 1969
    Office: HSS 8012, Phone: (858) 534-6811


    Philosophy of science (neurosciences, physics, astronomy); philosophy of mind (psychology); epistemology (cognitive science, artificial intelligence); philosophy of language; and the history of philosophy. 

  • Gerald Doppelt

    Gerald Doppelt

    gdoppelt@ucsd.edu

    Professor Emeritus
    Ph.D. Johns Hopkins University, 1969
    Office: HSS 7013, Phone: (858) 534-2933

    Philosophy of Science and Political Philosophy, including theory of justice, Rawls work, political liberalism, multiculturalism, the role of self-respect in political theory, communitarianism, and issues of gender and race.

  • Edward Lee

    Edward Lee

    enlee@ucsd.edu

    Professor Emeritus
    Ph.D. Princeton University