About the Philosophy Department

About Us

Interdisciplinarity is at the heart of the UC San Diego Philosophy Department. We live at the intersection of science, technology, health and social sciences, and other arts and humanities by offering optional areas of emphasis for undergraduates, areas of specialization for graduates, and faculty research interests covering a broad and far-reaching range of topics.

Department at a Glance

  • 60 undergraduates majors; 38 undergraduate minors; 20 double majors
  • 24 award-winning faculty
  • 48 graduate Ph.D. students
  • 4,000 undergraduate students taught by Philosophy faculty
  • 60 courses taught in Philosophy

Department Highlights

We Support the Resource Sharing Project

Prevent and respond to sexual violence

Department Chair
Jonathan Cohen

Chief Administrative Officer
Debra Ambrose

Director of Graduate Studies
Eric Watkins

Director of Undergraduate Studies
Monte Johnson